A chapter of the Romance Writers of America®.



Do you have a stellar cover that catches the eye and draws the reader in? The Midnight Sun Cover Contest 2020, sponsored by Alaska Romance Writers of America, is a chance for published authors (digital and print) to win some great prizes! Even better, every entry will be on display to over 150 voracious readers at the 2020 AWG Writer’s Conference who will vote for the top entries! (And perhaps buy your books!) 


Any author can enter their book cover for a romance novel, novella, or short story published prior to August 30, 2020, either electronically or in print, in the United States for the first time.


Step 1: Register for the contest between Aug. 1, 2020 and Sept. 1, 2020. 

(Registration link available soon). 

Step 2: Pay entrance fee ($15 per entry) 

Step 3: In an email to contest@akrwa.com, attach your book cover in digital format (JPEG format with 300 dpi or greater). 


Entries are accepted between August 1, 2020 and September 1, 2020 only. The deadline for submissions is midnight (Alaska Standard Time) on September 1, 2020. 


All entries will be placed on prominent display in printed format at the Alaska Writer’s Guild (AWG) 2020 conference, co-sponsored by AKRWA. Conference attendees and presenters (approximately 150) will select first-round entries via ballot box. 


Trained judges will select the top winner from the top ten entries selected at the conference. Final judging will occur at the annual AKRWA Writing Retreat in early October, with the winner announced in late October. Honorable Mentions: This contest seeks a single, most compelling cover; however, Honorable Mentions will be awarded, including the prestigious librarian’s choice award. 


In the event the AWG conference moves to an online webinar format, AWG members will vote on their favorite covers via an online poll. In the event of an AKRWA Writing Retreat cancellation, final judging will also take place digitally. 


Finalist and Honorable Mention covers will be published on the AKRWA website with the Finalist cover receiving prime location. In addition, the Finalist will receive an electronic badge that can be placed on book covers, websites, or anywhere the winner deems appropriate and a $25 Visa cash card. 


1. Fill out registration.

2. Pay the $15 entrance fee. 

3. Email cover submission to contest@akrwa.com


· One digital copy of the book cover in jpeg format at 300 dpi or more.

· Author name (pen name) in body of email.

· Paypal name (if different than pen name) in body of email.

· Title of the published novel in body of email.


1. Submissions are limited to books published prior to August 30, 2020.

2. Fill out registration and pay $15 entrance fee. 

3. Submit via email (contest@akrwa.com):

· One digital copy of the book cover in jpeg format at 300 dpi or more.

· Author name (pen name) in body of email.

· Paypal (if different than pen name) in body of email.

· Title of the published novel in body of email.

4. Writers can submit multiple entries, but each entry must be submitted separately.

5. Submissions without payment will not be considered.


For more information, please email the contest coordinator at contest@akrwa.com


Alaska Chapter of the RWA maintains no responsibility for the final judging process and considers the grand prize selection to be final and permanent.

This contest is sponsored by the Alaska Chapter of Romance Writers of America.

2019 Midnight Sun Cover Contest Winners


Grand Prize Winner

Tempted by Her Wolves by Tara West

Cover artist: Rebecca Frank


Librarian's Choice

Prince of Killers by Layla Reyne

Cover artist: Cate Ashwood, Photography: Wander Aguiar


Honorable Mention

The Lady's Prayer by Audrey Abbott

Cover artist: Fiona Jayde

2018 Midnight Sun Cover Contest Winners

Grand Prize Winner!

Grand Prize Winner

Hungry for Her Wolves by Tara West, cover art by Rebecca Frank


Honorable Mention

Deep Blue by Kristy McCaffery


Librarian's Choice

Every Deep Desire by Sharon Wray